Osborne Award Winners

2019 - Stephen DiBartola (USA)

2011 - George Lees (USA)

2004 - Donald Low (USA)

2002 - Kenneth Bovee (USA)

2000 - Delmar Finco (USA)

1999 - Carl Osborne (USA)

The recipient of the 2019 Osborne Award, presented at the ACVIM Forum in Pheonix, Arizona was Dr. Stephen DiBartola. His contributions to nephrology have been outstanding, including publications on polycystic kidney disease, renal amyloidosis, other forms of familial kidney disease and renal tubular acidosis. However, he is perhaps best known for his long-serving editorship of the Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine and for the reference textbook "Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid Base Disorders in Small Animal Practice", which is commonly referred to by veterinary residents and faculty simply as 'DiBartola'.

On hearing that he was to receive the award Dr DiBartola responded with the following remarks: "I can't tell you how humbling it is to have been nominated for and receive this award - the list of my colleagues who have received it before me is the family tree of veterinary nephrology and I've known all of them personally."